You are here: Home Page > News > 2013 > No tax rise for Redditch

No tax rise for Redditch residents

Redditch Borough Council last night (Monday February 18) agreed a financial package that freezes council tax for another year.

The council rubber-stamped a recommendation from its Executive Committee for a Medium Term Financial Plan that manages a range of funding pressures, including more permanent reductions to annual government funding, to balance the budget for 2013-14 without a tax rise.

It includes:

  • Major savings through efficiency by transforming the way the council works
  • Removing or reducing council tax discounts on short term empty (‘Class C’) and second homes
  • Accepting a one-off grant payment from the government equivalent to a 1% rise in Council Tax, in return for freezing Council Tax.
  • Using £24,000 out of balances

The report to councillors also noted that by 2014-15 the council will have dealt with reductions to its government funding totalling 43% of 2010-11 levels.

Redditch Borough Councillor Phil Mould, who is responsible for corporate management, said: “It is a tough budget. It’s well known that Redditch has consistently been handed the biggest cuts in the area but this year the council has kept tax down for residents by working smarter, working harder, and having clear priorities.

“That’s why there is no tax rise this year and we have been able to make new and useful services available to the public such as free swimming for the young and elderly and the pre-9.30am concessionary bus scheme.”

Page Information
This page was last reviewed 19 February 2013 at 18:13 by .
The page is next due for review 18 August 2013.
Print Add to Favourites Facebook Twitter
Map of Worcestershire Bromsgrove District Council Malvern District Council Redditch Borough Council Worcester City Council Wychavon District Council Wyre Forest District Council
The county of Worcestershire includes the districts of:

Google Translate
Redditch Borough Council, The Town Hall, Walter Stranz Square, Redditch, B98 8AH - Directions to Council Offices